A mildly interesting Christmas present

I have a younger sister, who has been asking me for a 3D printed heart for quite some time. So, I decided to put her asking to rest, and make her a box shaped like a heart for her Christmas present.

I got to SolidWorks, put together a simple assembly. I thought it would

1
in solidworks

look nice to have a tree branch shape cut out of the lid to the box, so I did just that, by opening Tinkercad, importing an SVG of a tree silhouette, and performing a boolean operation to remove the tree branch from the lid. After that, I was ready to print. With my little remaining red filament, I printed the lid. After, it was time for the actual box portion, which I printed in black, to give some nice contrast. I printed out the branches in white, so as to give the illusion of a multicolored print. Overall, I am very happy with the result.

heart1
finished!

Leave a comment