Something Useful: Sun Visor Clip for a Cherished Speaker

DSC_0496.JPGThe other day, my dad comes in my room, urgency in his voice, and worried eyes that told me more than just something was wrong. He bursts through the door, a single tear streaming down his hardened jawline. In a defeated tone, he tells me, “Son. I have a project.”

Okay, so it wasn’t that intense, but, long story short, my dad requested I design something for him. This was a welcomed proposal, as I have been trying to design as many things as possible for practicing SolidWorks (the robotics team I am a member of uses SolidWorks, rather than Autodesk Inventor, which I had grown accustom to). Basically, he wanted something to clip his Jawbone Jambox to his car’s sun visor. See, he has an older car, meaning there is no audio input to convert his phone’s devious pulses of energy into compressions of our atmosphere which we perceive as something called “music.” I know, science is crazy.

So, with my trusty five-dollar calipers, I got to work measuring the conveniently rectangular-shaped speaker. And in some time, I had for him what he wanted. And, it was a pretty nice design, might I say. I printed two of these clips for attaching the speaker to his car’s sun visor, and it works surprisingly well.

preview
a render of the clip itself

Leave a comment