Spending Some Time with Putin

I know what you’re thinking: I wish I had a miniature Vladimir Putin dangling from my keychain. And you know what? I’ve been there. But no longer must you trudge through the barren tundra of Siberia without Putin yelling kind words of encouragement. At least, when you bring your keys along.

Okay, let’s be serious. Putin is a sort of funny man. While nothing he does is exactly funny (other than the fact that his policies are probably worse than those which a child might imagine, if he or she is particularly interested in how to lose international friends), he’s sort of a funny man to look at. So, armed with Inventor, Blender, a model of the man himself, and a key, I got to modeling.

Putin hanging around in Blender

First, I got some dimensions from my key and drew them into Inventor, which took all but a few minutes on a sleepless night. I then took the key model into Blender, where it met with the severed head of Russia’s president (I should mention that I cut his head off of the model, so that it could be mounted on a key). I then cut the model into pieces, used Blender’s difference Boolean operation to make space for the key, squished his head down a bit so it fits in a pocket easier, added a loop for attaching the president’s head to a keychain, and exported it as an STL. Unsurprisingly, this took a great deal of time, but I suppose that’s what I get for being more than inexperienced in doing Blender-things.
If you want this little bastard on your key for some reason, you can find the model here. The Putin model which I used lives here.

DSC_0285

So that’s it. And now you can have the head of an evil man on your key. And it’s all thanks to me.

You’re welcome.

  • Blake ❤

Leave a comment